Lady Mariposa, Senara and Argo Celebrated at Awards Evening

On Friday, February 1st, after 811 nautical miles of ocean racing followed by packed out social events, the 2019 edition of the Pineapple Cup – Montego Bay Race reached its conclusion with the packed out Montego Bay Yacht Club playing host to the awards ceremony! Over 170 attendees including the Honorable Custos Rotolorum Bishop Conrad Pitkin, His Worship Mayor Homer Davis of Montego Bay, MBYC Commodore Nigel Knowles and Royal Jamaican Yacht Club Past Commodore Andrew Thwaites were on hand for the awarding of the Governor General’s Trophy, also known as the Pineapple Cup.

Race Director Hugh Piggin said, “This has been an truly global Pineapple Cup – with some of the top offshore sailors in the world  representing 14 different countries to take on this historic race. 

From a heavy air start, a wind hole in the middle and a classic downwind finish, this edition provided exciting sailing for all of the teams. It was terrific to see Argo set a new course record, however with the modern sailing machines out there I think there is still opportunity to better both the monohull and multihull marks in future editions. Finally we made a few tweaks to the start times of the fleets which resulted in having all boats represented at the prize giving which made for an very exciting evening. Congratulations to Argo, Senara, Lady Mariposa – we hope to see you defend your titles in 2021.”

Horst Baier, James Bill and Eamonn Delisser’s Senara FARR 395 Racing had an exceptional race and their take of hardware at the Awards was impressive. The team was awarded the Silver Seahorse Trophy for their win in the PHRF division, the Seagull Trophy for being the smallest boat to finish and the and the newly created Felix Hunter Andre Trophy awarded to the winning boat with the most competitors. 

Eamonn said of the race, “This race started out rough. We lost our windex within the first 3-4 hours don’t know how, it just came off. We beat ourselves up to Eleuthera where we knew the cold front was coming in. We never expected 40 knots that was a surprise, but we knew the wind was going to change and we had to double reef and put up storm sails, but after that it was a pleasurable sail. 

This is my first win, in 8 races…so this feels great. Jamaica is home [Eamonn was born in Jamaica, but resides in Miami], it is one of the greatest races out there, it has every condition you want to do and we started doing this because of my daughter (Arielle), it [the boat] was her graduation present. I just want to thank Jim Bill and Horst Baier because without them we couldn’t do this.”

Skipper Nigel King, Lady Mariposa Racing said of the race, “It was a really enjoyable race – very different race. The conditions changed throughout the course. It was lumpy in the gulf stream from Miami and then you get through the Bahamas with quiet and flat seas and then obviously we had a good rip down towards Jamaica. I think everyone enjoyed it – it was nice and sunny. There were times it was colder than we thought it would be, but I think everyone really enjoyed it. It was a good length of race because you can really get into it – it was the longest race we’ve done for a while so it was good for us.”

Winner Of The Largest Fleet: 


First Monohull To Finish: 

The Silver Rose Bowl Perpetual Trophy – Wizard 

Smallest Boat To Finish: 

Seagull Trophy – Senara

Division PHRF: 

1st Silver Seahorse Perpetual Trophy – Senara

2nd – Renegade 

3rd – Sin Duda! 

Division Multihull 

Arawak Perpetual Trophy: Winner of Multihull Class – Argo 

(Multihull Record Breaking Winner) 

Division IRC: 

1st – Lady Mariposa 

2nd – Wizard

3rd – Conviction 

Navigators Trophy, First Overall Corrected Time IRC & PHRF (Shared)

IRC: Lady Mariposa – Audrey Yakunin 
PHRF: Senara – Joseph Goulet

OVERALL WINNER OF THE PINEAPPLE CUP – First Overall Corrected Time IRC Rated Boat 

Lady Mariposa

Related News